You are here: About the OfficeInternational cooperationInternational organisationsProgramme-based cooperationEUREKA
13 February 2003
Last modified: 14 December 2017
Reading time: 2 minute(s)
The main objective of the EUREKA Initiative established in 1985 is to raise the competitiveness of Europe globally by supporting, promoting and co-operating market-oriented research and innovation projects realised through consortia of international co-operation. Since its establishment, EUREKA has supported over 4,000 innovative projects with 30 billion Euros of financing, including 10 billion Euros of public funds. EUREKA provides high-quality services for industry, universities and research institutes and especially for innovative Small and Medium Sized Enterprises (SMEs), serving as an unparalleled engine for economic growth and job creation.

The EUREKA projects have led to numerous innovative products, processes and services which are ready for market in the most significant and competitive fileds of technology, including: ICT, biotechnology, production technology, as well as energy and environmental technologies.

EUREKA Membership
Currently the members of the EUREKA cooperation are the following countries: the EU28, FYROM (Macedonia), Iceland, Israel, Monaco, Montenegro, Norway, Russia, San Marino, Switzerland, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine. This means that altogether 40 countries, plus the European Commission are members. Albania and Bosnia-Herzegovina participate in EUREKA projects through a network of National Information Points (NIP). The affiliation known as Associated Country Status was initiated as part of EUREKA’s strategy to enhance cooperation with countries outside of Europe judged to have scientific and research potential. EUREKA Associated Countries are Canada, South Africa and South Korea.


National Project Coordinators - NPCs
NPCs are running the National EUREKA Offices at an operational level and are responsible for project generation, national and international support and follow-up. They are the direct contact with project participants facilitating the setting-up and running of a project. NPCs meetings (4-5 times annually) are a good forum for exchange of experiences and best-practice discussions.



In May 1992, Hungary was the first country from the Central Eastern Europe region to be admitted to EUREKA.
Since becoming a member of the initiative, more than 50 EUREKA projects have been successfully finished with Hungarian participation. The projects cover a wide range of technology fields from ICT to biotechnology.
The Hungarian EUREKA Office provides applicants with information on the EUREKA initiative and Eurostars and the funding programmes which support Hungarian participation in EUREKA and Eurostars. We regularly organise information days and workshops and also offer consulting and partner-search services. The Hungarian EUREKA Office is operated by the National Research, Development and Innovation Office which is the main funding body for applied research in Hungary in all areas of science and technology.

For more information on EUREKA please see:


For more information on EUREKA in Hungary contact:

Mr. Gergely Mészáros
National Project Coordinator
National Research, Development and Innovation Office
Tel. +36 1 896 3741

Updated: 14 December 2017
Was this page helpful?