You are here: For the applicantsNews and eventsNewsHungarian and international RDI news
UNESCO - Al Fozan Inernational Prize
UNESCO - Al Fozan Inernational Prize
18 July 2022
Modified: 18 July 2022
Reading time: 2 minute(s)
UNESCO - Al Fozan Inernational Prize for the Promoting of Young Scientists in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM).

The UNESCO - Al Fozan International Prize for the promotion of young scientists in STEM was created to strengthen STEM research, STEM education and international cooperation. The Prize will give recognition to achievements of young people that are conducive to socio-economic transformation and development on a global scale while also increasing the interest of young people, particularly girls and women, in science so as to promote gender equality, scientific literacy and the choice of a scientific career.

The Prize

The Prize consists of a monetary reward of US $50,000 for each of the five winners, representing a total monetary prize value of $250,000. A diploma and a medal will be given to each of the recipients.

About the Prize

The Prize is awarded every two years to five individual prize-winners from the five UNESCO geographical regions at each edition, on an initial basis for three biennia

Prizes may be awarded to five individuals only who have promoted STEM advancement in education, research, or international cooperation for societal development

Candidates must be less than 40 years old at the time of applying for the Prize and must be actively involved in STEM at the time of application to the Prize.


To be considered eligible, it is mandatory to be nominated. Self-nominations will not be considered. Qualified nominators may be:

  • Member States through their National Commissions to Unesco.
  • Non-governmental organizations in official partnership with UNESCO and active in relevant fields covered by the Prize.
  • UNESCO Chair holders
  • UNESCO Category 2 Centres
  • International Scientific Unions
  • Heads of Universities

Each nominator may submit up three nominations for each edition of the Prize.

Nominations can only be submitted electronically through the online dedicated platform: and must be written in English or French.

Deadline: 15 Novembre 2022

More information: UNESCO - Al Fozan Inernational Prize PDF (326 KB)

Updated: 18 July 2022
Was this page helpful?